NEWSLETTER

UNSUBSCRIBE

NEWSLETTER

SUBSCRIBE

CONTOUR 2011

Mechelen (BEL) hosts a unique initiative for people with an interest in contemporary art as well as architectural history. The biennial presents artists working with film, video and installation in special locations in the historical inner city of Mechelen.

The fifth edition bears the mark of the Canadian curator Anthony Kiendl. Under the title ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’, the exhibition explores the intersections of music, contemporary film and video and post-conceptual art.

Kiendl: “Popular music accompanies or is constitutive of some of our most meaningful and widely shared cultural moments. The ecstatic potential of rock music provides a space to exceed standardised terms of representation, language and control. Rather than staging a meeting of isolated fields of cultural production (music and art), ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ seeks to trouble the autonomy of art, music and film, and the singular identities of artist, musician or filmmaker. More than an exercise in juxtaposition, translation or transposition, this exhibition offers a complex matrix of sound, image, signal, noise, and meaning.

As in any medium, the structural components of film and video – light, sound, motion and optics – are dependent upon the human body and consciousness to cohere meaning. The transformation of experience, and the expansion of consciousness, has historically been a preoccupation in rock music, one that combines both physical and conceptual realms. The body has always been implicated in rock music; to ‘rock ‘n’ roll’ was a euphemism for having sex. The mythologised promise of rock music is freedom, and rebellion, and by extension, utopia.

The accumulation of knowledge, emotion, and physical experience in art, music and film can exceed the boundaries of language and knowledge management. As a biennial of the moving image, particularly one that foregrounds the architectural space of the city as part of its program, these notions might provide a forum for the social construction of space. The crossroad of sound and vision pushes the limits of cultural transformation, for example, in the ways that we may implicate the excesses of the human body as a conduit and agent in radicalising social practice.”

CONCEPT

SOUND AND VISION: BEYOND REASON

“Working with sound frees my head. Always did.”
— Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven

Popular music accompanies or is constitutive of some of our most meaningful and widely shared cultural moments. The ecstatic potential of rock music provides a space to exceed standardised terms of representation, language and control. The artists in ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ explore the intersections of music, contemporary film and video and post-conceptual art. Rather than staging a meeting of isolated fields of cultural production (music and art), ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ seeks to trouble the autonomy of art, music and film, and the singular identities of artist, musician or filmmaker. More than an exercise in juxtaposition, translation or transposition, this exhibition offers a complex matrix of sound, image, signal, noise, and meaning.

more

ARTISTIC TEAM

CURATOR
ANTHONY KIENDL (CAN)

EXHIBITION ARCHITECTS
KRIS KIMPE & BRUNO POELAERT (BEL)

GRAPHIC DESIGN
JORIS KRITIS & JULIE PEETERS (BEL)

WEBSITE & DIGITAL SIGNAGE
KOEN CAERELS (BEL)

more

BULLETIN D’INFORMATION

DÉSABONNEMENT

BULLETIN D’INFORMATION

'S INSCRIRE

CONTOUR 2011

De l’art contemporain de niveau international, l’image mouvante sous toutes ses formes, une expérience sensorielle intense et une promenade citadine singulière. Voilà l’essence de Contour 2011.

Contour est une manière à la fois passionnante et légère de découvrir l’art plastique contemporain de niveau international. Cette biennale présente des artistes travaillant avec vidéo, film et installations dans des endroits peu communs du centre historique de Malines, des endroits oubliés ou bien dissimulés, situés dans un périmètre limité.

L’édition n°5 de la biennale porte l’empreinte de son commissaire, Anthony Kiendl. Sous le titre ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’, l’exposition explore les croisements entre la musique, la vidéo, le film et l’art post-conceptuel. 

Kiendl: “La musique pop a accompagné une bonne partie des grandes expériences culturelles que nous partageons avec d’autres et en est une composante essentielle. Le pouvoir de séduction de la musique rock crée l’espace nécessaire pour dépasser les frontières de la représentation, du langage et de la maîtrise.

‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ n’organise pas des rencontres entre des terrains bien délimités de la production culturelle (musique et art plastique), mais entend plutôt démonter l’autonomie de l’art plastique, de la musique et du cinéma et remettre en question les identités singulières du plasticien, du musicien et du cinéaste. L’exposition est plus qu’un exercice de juxtaposition, de traduction ou de transposition; elle offre une matrice complexe de sons, d’images, de signaux, de bruits et de sens.

Les composantes structurelles de la vidéo et du film – lumière, son, mouvement et optique – ne peuvent prendre un sens qu’à travers le corps humain et la conscience. Cela est valable pour tous les médias. Les musiciens de rock tentent de transformer des expériences et d’élargir l’état de conscience. Ils combinent pour cela un travail corporel et conceptuel. Cette musique a toujours été très physique, au point que le ‘rock-‘n’-roll’ est devenu un euphémisme du sexe. Le credo mythique de la musique rock est celui de la liberté et de la rébellion, et par extension de l’utopie.

more

TEXTE DE BASE

SOUND AND VISION: BEYOND REASON

“Travailler avec le son me libère la tête. Il en a toujours été ainsi.” — Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven

La musique pop a accompagné une bonne partie des grandes expériences culturelles que nous partageons avec d’autres et en est une composante essentielle. Le pouvoir de séduction de la musique rock crée l’espace nécessaire pour dépasser les frontières de la représentation, du langage et de la maîtrise. Les artistes de ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ explorent les croisements entre la musique, le cinéma contemporain, la vidéo et l’art post-conceptuel. ‘Sound and Vision: Beyond Reason’ n’organise pas des rencontres entre des terrains bien délimités de la production culturelle (musique et art plastique), mais entend plutôt démonter l’autonomie de l’art plastique, de la musique et du cinéma et remettre en question les identités singulières du plasticien, du musicien et du cinéaste.

more

BULLETIN D'INFORMATION

Vous désirez rester informés? En tête de cette page vous pouvez vous inscrire au bulletin d’information de Contour.


 

ARCHIVES

ÉQUIPE ARTISTIQUE

COMMISSAIRE
ANTHONY KIENDL (CAN)

ARCHITECTES DE LA BIENNALE
KRIS KIMPE & BRUNO POELAERT (BEL)

GRAPHISTES
JORIS KRITIS & JULIE PEETERS (BEL)

SITE INTERNET
KOEN CAERELS (BEL)

more